Indigenous Women’s Rights and Environmental Justice

Loading Sessions

« All Sessions

Virtual Session Virtual Session
  • This session has passed.

Indigenous Women’s Rights and Environmental Justice

September 14 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am UTC+8

Virtual Session Virtual Session
Free

Plenary
Organised by Women4Biodiversity

5:00 am – 6:00 am Nairobi | 7:45 am – 8:45 am Kathmandu | 9:00 am – 10:00 am Bangkok | 10:00 am – 11:00 am Kuala Lumpur | 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Honiara

Live interpretation: Bahasa Malaysia, Nepali, Spanish, Thai

Moderator: Mrinalini Rai, Women4Biodiversity

Speakers:
Edna Kaptoyo, PAWANKA Fund, Kenya
Kanlaya Chularattakor, Indigenous Women Network in Thailand (IWNT), Thailand
Aydah Akao, Network of Indigenous Peoples in Solomon Islands (NIPS), Solomon Islands
Sushila Kumari Thapa Magar, FIMI, Nepal

This collaborative plenary dialogue will focus on a human-rights-based approach to biodiversity and gender justice, converging around areas of synergy across various international biodiversity-related fora and national actions. The event will introduce and share knowledge of Indigenous women in working collectively towards a transformative global agenda for women and girls and environmental justice.

Session flyer featuring Aydah Akao

The Zoom link to join the session will be accessible 15 minutes prior to the start of the session. Please join us live on our FaceBook Page in the event that you have difficulties joining the session from the browser.